Skip to content

happy appendectomy anniversary

Thursday. 10. 3. 2013.

The other day my appendectomy scar started to itch.

“Appendectomy?” you say?

I realised that I never posted about that. Well… a year ago… in the midst of getting divorced, my appendix decided that it too was gonna quit me. I didn’t feel too strongly about it staying seeing that it was causing me immense pain.

I used to joke about how I left behind all the unnecessary things. My tonsils. My appendix. My ex-husband.

Anyways. I realised the other day that it’s been a year since I last had an appendix.

So it’s been a year. How time goes quickly by.

How I feel about things have definitely changed.

I was telling a friend the other day that I used to wish that life was the way it was in 2011. 2011 was a great year. But only on the surface.

The other day, when I was having a low moment, I found myself briefly thinking that I wish it was 2011 but then I started to take apart that year. Living in Sweden was making me really miserable. I wasn’t going to do what I wanted to do. I wanted to become a dentist, I didn’t get into dental school. I was a bit of a mess from coming off anti-depressants and starting Concerta. I was really struggling with school. I was having anxiety attacks all the time.

2011 was not as great as I had perceived. Don’t get me wrong, there were some good times in 2011 but I’ve also realised that I don’t actually want it to be 2011.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

