Skip to content

30 before 30

Saturday. 03. 30. 2013.

I went out for dinner with my friend and her cousin the other day and I mentioned that I would be turning 30 on Monday. Her cousin asked if I had a 30 before 30 list. Then we talked about what might go on this list of 30 things to do before one turns 30. Would they be realistic? When would you start one?

Then I started thinking about the things that I have done before I turn 30. It’s not a bad list of things. It’s rather decent.

So here it is… things I have done before turning 30:

  1. Fell in love
  2. Experienced love in return from someone not family
  3. Got engaged
  4. Got married
  5. Got divorced
  6. Survived a serious heartbreak
  7. Bought a house
  8. Lived in another country
  9. Learned another language
  10. Lived in a different culture
  11. Made long term plans for myself
  12. Made long term plans with someone
  13. Travelled to non-English speaking countries
  14. Got a cat (2 in fact)
  15. Saw my favourite bands (more than once)
  16. Bought a car (sorta)
  17. Had an amazing garden
  18. Had my own home
  19. Had my own family
  20. Made some seriously awesome friends (real ones)
  21. Made some “grown-up” decisions
  22. Got to know some amazing people
  23. Married a rockstar
  24. Met a bunch of scientists
  25. Got know my family better
  26. Realised that some things are not that big of a deal (work in progress)
  27. Entertained Martha Stewart style
  28. Learned how to cook (pretty well)

I don’t have 30 things but it’s still a pretty decent list.

I didn’t think that turning 30 would be such a big deal (to me at least). Perhaps it’s the events that lead up to turning 30 that makes it so important ’cause I’m also in the beginnings of a new life.

I can say that I’m looking forward to life after 30. Perhaps even more so than when I was married and living in Sweden.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

