Skip to content

my favourite place in KC

Wednesday. 08. 15. 2012.

My parents sent me to my aunt’s place in the suburbs of Kansas City, Missouri when I was 16 for a couple of weeks in the summer. I went there for a couple of weeks in the summer for a few years after that. Then I used to go there in the summer and around Christmas to visit my family who had moved down to run a Americanised-Chinese restaurant. I’ve tried to go see my aunt and the rest of the family in the last few times I was in Canada.

I’ve always loved steak. I used to eat mine blue-rare. My aunt took me to Houston’s when I was a teenager and it’s been a favourite since. There used to be 2 locations but now there’s only the one in the Kansas City Country Club Plaza neighbourhood.

The quality of their steaks are just top notch. These days I only order their prime rib. The last time I was there, they had creamed corn seasons with jalapeños that was quite delicious. I keep meaning to replicate it.

Their meat is always very tender and well aged. It often requires very little knife work. It’s beefy in taste but not gamey beefy. I have never had an over done steak. I often eat the prime rib without even dipping it in the jus.

It was also at Houston’s where I tried honey mustard dressing for the first time. The first time my aunt took me to Houston’s, she recommended getting the traditional salad with honey mustard and hot bacon. I haven’t ordered my salad any other way since.

There’s a Fogo de Chao across the street from Houston’s. I would recommend heading over to Houston’s if you want really really good meat. Fogo de Chao is ok and it’s an all-you-can-eat but I’d go to Houston’s for the higher quality. As you can see, the prime rib at Houston’s is not a small portion. I always leave with leftovers.

traditional salad with honey mustard & hot baconTraditional salad with honey mustard and hot bacon.

prime rib with french friesPrime rib with french fries, jus and horseradish.

Houston’s
4640 Wornall Road
Kansas City, MO 64112
(816) 561-8542

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

