Skip to content

don’t even know what to say

Sunday. 03. 25. 2012.

Yesterday I met someone new. Actually, I met a bunch of new people but one particular person stood out.

This woman asked me about artificial sweeteners after I mentioned that I was studying nutrition. She wanted to know the “truth” about them. She had apparently been reading about them and couldn’t decide whether she should be drinking diet coke anymore.

I’m not an expert on the issue and from what I’ve read, there doesn’t seem to be a direct link between artificial sweeteners and health issues.

This woman kept asking me if artificial sweeteners are rat poison, as suggested by whatever she had been reading.

When I tried to explain to her that it’s not that simple to determine whether or not something has negative health effects, she just wouldn’t have it.

I didn’t know what to say after the 5th time she asked if artificial sweeteners are rat poison. I just told her that if she was having any doubts about it then she shouldn’t drink diet coke. Her response was, “But I like it.”

Funnier still was when I mentioned getting cancer from smoking, she quickly said that she’s skeptical about that and that must be genetics.

I’m not a big fan of meeting new people.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Monday. 03. 26. 2012. 12.18 am

    She sounds like a nut bar. There’s no rat poison in diet coke. I mean really water is better than diet drinks but if you like it, then drink it. Weirdo! (her not you :P)

Leave a Reply

