Skip to content

nam kang

Sunday. 01. 29. 2012.

For some reason I associate cold weather with eating Korean food. I suppose a hot bowl of bibimbap in the middle of summer doesn’t sound like such a great idea.

In Toronto, there’s K-town. It’s like Chinatown except with Koreans. Toronto is great like that.

I WISH we had all-you-can-eat Korean BBQ for $15 here.

The other day, Fredrik picked me up from school ’cause I needed to do an Asian grocery run in the city and we went for lunch at Nam Kang.

I ordered bibimbap.

Fredrik ordered the mixed lunch combo.


Their salad bar had pickled daikon (I went back for seconds), kimchi and kelp.
Unfortunately their kelp was unseasoned but their kimchi was good.

While the prices didn’t exactly inspire us to frequent this place often, the food was very good. I really like the fried mixed vegetable in Fredrik’s lunch. It reminded me of pakora.

Apparently this place does Korean BBQ.

For those who have never experienced Korean BBQ… They have a grill in the middle of the table. You cook your own food at the table. There’s marinated meats and seafood. You get kimchi and other side dishes like pickled daikon.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Korean_barbecue

Korean BBQ at this place is not all-you-can-eat. While I’ll be saving my Korean BBQ experiences for Toronto, I do recommend those in Sweden who don’t have the opportunities to go to Toronto for Korean BBQ to give this place a try. They even have a karaoke room.

Their lunch menu.

The waiter gave us bowls of miso soup as soon as we sat down at the table.

Restaurang Nam Kang
Birger Jarlsgatan 38
114 29 Stockholm
08-611 32 92

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sunday. 02. 5. 2012. 11.20 pm

    I hear you about missing TO K-town! I guess there’s Korean food everywhere these days, but there’s something about that neighbourhood…

    I could totally go for some fresh walnut cakes right about now… 🙂

    • Monday. 02. 6. 2012. 7.52 am

      A friend of mine once said, “I’m glad that Asians are trendy these days ’cause even the regular supermarkets have some of our food” before she moved to a small town in New Brunswick.

Leave a Reply

