Skip to content

i likes the tail

Sunday. 01. 29. 2012.

I welcome this new trend in eating all the “leftover” parts. I happen to like things like tongue, cheek, liver, tail, etc.

The shop started selling oxtail the other week so I took some home after work on Saturday to make oxtail stew.

Pretty simple. Most important thing is time but even that could be remedied with a pressure cooker. I don’t have one.

Start by parboiling the pieces of oxtail. Get the butcher to cut the tail into manageable pieces. Usually they’d divvy it up at the joints. How do you parboil? Boil up a pot of water, drop in the oxtail, bring it back to a boil, turn off the heat, skim the fat/scum, drain the oxtail.

I used a a nice fat piece of ginger, the amount can vary depending on how much you like ginger. My piece was about the size of a big cat’s paw, open. Slice it up. Heat some oil in a dutch oven/pot/deep pan. Sauté the ginger slices till they’re aromatic. Add a couple spoonfuls of chee hou sauce (available in Asian stores). Add water. Add parboiled oxtail. Bring it to a boil. Bring it down to a simmer and let ‘er cook for a few hours on low. I turned my stove down to 1.

I took the pieces of oxtail out, strained the “sauce” of the oil and put it all back into the pan for further cooking. I also added some green onion after I bought some from the supermarket, 5 hours after start. If it’s not salty enough, add a bit of soy sauce. My mom told me that my dad adds a bit of hoisin sauce when he makes braised brisket. I would have liked to add some daikon to this but I couldn’t find any at the shops, not to mention the ones I have bought tend not to be so great (woody).


This is the result of 6 hours of braising. Yes. What I did was braising.

Brisket and cheeks would also work to cook in this fashion. It can also be done in a slow cooker rather than on the stovetop. I just don’t have one. Would love one. Don’t have it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sunday. 01. 29. 2012. 8.44 pm

    I’d love one too. And a food processer/mixer thing. A big metal one,

Leave a Reply

