Skip to content

wrong tofu!

Wednesday. 11. 2. 2011.

I went to the Asian supermarket after work on Saturday and found these…

EGG TARTS!!!

While I was there, I looked into the tofu selection they had.

I’ve been craving for tofu fa since I saw the “make your own” package at another Asian supermarket. I didn’t buy the “make your own” ’cause I didn’t know if it was any good and the store clerks had no idea if it was any good. I tried to explain to them that tofu fa is even softer than the silken variety.

I have fond memories of tofu fa. My friend Ryan calls it tofu fun. I think it’s super cute. The best tofu fa is also the kind you get during dim sum. It’s available only on the weekends.

Anyways.

On Saturday. At the Asian supermarket. I ask the owner if the tofu marked as silken tofu was anything like tofu fa. She told me that it was so I decided to give it a try.

silken tofu

I made a syrup with ginger and Chinese brown sugar. The tofu felt firmer than tofu fa. Silken tofu is NOT tofu fa. It was a bit sad but I ate some of it with the syrup anyways.

tofu fa

It was a bit sad. I can’t wait to go to Canada.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

