Skip to content

thanks for the giving

Monday. 10. 10. 2011.

Today is the Canadian Thanksgiving (the second Monday of October). My family didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving with turkey but we did appreciate the long weekend and would get together for a family dinner.

Yesterday Fredrik and I attended the Canadian club Thanksgiving. I don’t think turkey is monumental but I like it when I can get it. We went because there were friends that we haven’t seen in a while and it’s nice to be social with strangers every so often.

There was a family at our table and the mom was telling us about how the son was really upset that they had to go to this Thanksgiving gathering instead of a football game. She was telling me about how it’s kind of upsetting that her sons don’t speak English to her. It echoed various moments of my own upbringing and makes me wonder what bringing up children with 3 cultures to choose from would be like.

I’m starting to think I need to stay away from people with children ’cause they’re filling my head with worries about children that aren’t there and aren’t coming for at least 5 years.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Monday. 10. 10. 2011. 8.18 pm

    Noooooooooooooooo! Then I’ll never see you!!!! That is just not acceptable. 🙂

    I was thinking of inviting you over for turkey supper next sunday, but since there are going to be only couples with kids, maybe not, eh? 🙂

  2. Tuesday. 10. 11. 2011. 8.40 pm

    You know I’d always make exceptions!

    Not to mention, you’ve always been such a good example of life with children

Leave a Reply

