Skip to content

mope mope mope

Monday. 08. 22. 2011.

I’ve been having a not so nice day.

I’ve had to cancel my trip to Canada.

I got my schedule for school and if I did go ahead with my trip, I’d be missing a lot of labs and coming home 7 days before an exam. If I had only lectures and didn’t have an exam 7 days after I get home, I would’ve probably gone ahead with perhaps a shortened version of this trip but it’s labs and there’s the damn exam.

I was REALLY looking forward to spending Mid-Autumn Festival with my family.

When I first realised that I would be in Canada for Mid-Autumn Festival, I was super excited. Chinese festivals/holidays have become extra special to me because they’re not holidays that everyone celebrates, like Christmas or Easter. When I was younger, I was kind of rejected them because I felt like I didn’t belong in the society I was living in with these “extra” holidays, but as I got older, I realised that they were like the “club” holidays. It was part of being Chinese and it was part of my family traditions. I still remember being rather upset about spending Chinese New Year without my family for the first time (they moved to the States while I stayed in Canada).

I know that I’d come to regret going to Canada if I went with the original plans and I’d be super stressed out trying to make up labs and prepare for an exam. But it doesn’t make it suck any less.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

