Skip to content

is it such a good thing?

Friday. 04. 8. 2011.

Lately I’ve been seeing these ads for the new Ford Focus. Normally I wouldn’t give a car ad a second thought. Well… with SOME exceptions.

Not it wasn’t the advertisement that intrigued me. No… it was the new features that the car had.

Now… I am not very good at parallel parking. I know it. Almost anyone that has been in my car knows it. It’s not that I can’t do it. It just takes me a bit of time and frankly I’d rather just pull into a regular parking spot.

Anyone that has been in the CRV back in the day can tell you the functions of the “Jesus handles”. These days I’m a bit more careful. My reflexes are not what they used to be and my CRV is 13 years old so the handling is probably not the same. But there are stories and there were moments of “Well that was a bit stupid.”

Anyways.

The 2011 Ford Focus is offering… parking assist, driver assistance pack that alerts you when the car moves out of the lane and aids the driver to stay within it, traffic sign recognition, blind spot monitoring, and a system to reduce low-speed crashes.

I understand that these technologies were developed for safety but people are simply going to rely on these technologies and the responsibility in paying attention while driving will just go out the window.

I drove from Mississauga to the other side of Toronto for school for 3 years and the amount of accidents I’ve seen because people were not paying attention…
Now people are even more inclined to say, “I don’t need to pay attention. My car will warn me if I’m gonna rear end someone.”

Nevermind other people, I’ve tapped someone from behind (get your head out of the gutter) turning right on an intersection. I wasn’t paying attention, dude hadn’t gone yet and our bumpers tapped. No damage, he let me off the hook ’cause he probably thought I was some 16 year old learning how to drive with my mom. My mom, on the other hand, was not so nice. I was 21 at the time.

I’m just not so sure about all this…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

