Skip to content

how do you cut your cauliflower?

Monday. 04. 4. 2011.

While I was prepping my cauliflower for roasting, I started wondering if there was a “right” way to cut cauliflower. How would Martha Stewart do it?

I learned how to cut a cauliflower into florets from my mom. She asked me to cut up a cauliflower. I was cutting the thing like it was cabbage. I was ending up with cauliflower dust. When she showed up, she was like, “What the hell are you doing?” She then showed me how to cut it so that I didn’t end up with a whole pile of cauliflower dust.

Make a cut, then separate by breaking it apart.

See? No cauliflower dust!

So how are you supposed to cut up a head of cauliflower?

Martha Stewart’s instructions weren’t so good.
(http://www.marthastewart.com/article/preparing-cauliflower)

The Kitchn offers photo instructions. (http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/tips-techniques/basic-technique-how-to-cut-cauliflower-089495) They make a couple straight cuts. (Cauliflower dust!) Then they break it down further by hand.

There are also some videos about how to break down a head of cauliflower.

Seriously tho, how do you break down a head of cauliflower? Readers + wanderers, let me know!

Anyways.

I roasted my cauliflower in the oven. Tossed it with some olive oil, salt & pepper, and a couple of cloves of sliced garlic. Roast the cauliflower at 400°F (200°C) for 30 minutes.

It turned out so good. I nearly ate the whole head of cauliflower as dinner. Cauliflower may be good for you but I don’t think eating a whole head in 1 sitting is such a good idea.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Monday. 04. 4. 2011. 8.58 pm

    I think of you every time we eat cauliflower. M ate almost as much as you did today. Tomorrow’s diaper should be interesting. 🙂

  2. Monday. 04. 4. 2011. 10.06 pm

    All the cauliflower I eat is perfectly cut by the same people that freeze it and put it in a packet.

Leave a Reply

