Skip to content

shrimp shell risotto

Monday. 01. 10. 2011.

I mentioned in the shrimp and zucchini pie post that I save the shells of the shrimp for a stock for my risotto.

Well here’s how you do it…

Cover the shells in water and bring to a boil. I vaguely remember reading somewhere that you shouldn’t boil it for too long. I think I usually boil it for a couple minutes, just enough to get the flavours out of the shells. Pour the stock through a strainer to separate the shells from the stock.

IMG_0161

You can freeze this stock for later.

I learned how to make risotto from Jamie Oliver.
http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/risotto/basic-risotto-recipe

IMG_0160

We didn’t have any yellow onion so I used a red onion. It came out just fine.

  • ½ small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1 cup of arborio rice (I didn’t have a full cup so I just filled it with sushi rice)

IMG_0162

Fredrik and I like peas in our risotto.

IMG_0163

Since the shrimps I had were already cooked, I added them to the risotto at the very last minute and took the pan off the heat. I finished off the risotto with a couple chunks of garlic butter.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

