Skip to content

½lb cake

Thursday. 09. 23. 2010.

I decided that I wanted some sort of marble pound cake but I didn’t want to use a whole pound of butter and a whole pound of sugar. For those who didn’t know, traditionally pound cakes used 1 pound of butter, 1 pound of sugar and 1 pound of flour.

I halved Thee NEW Moosewood Cookbook pound cake recipe and baked a most fluffy and yummy cake. I don’t even want to imagine what kind of cake the full recipe would yield. Suggested serving is 12-16 people. Maybe I’ll bake a full size cake for the Canadian Embassy Thanksgiving.

  • 8oz softened butter
  • 1 cup sugar (Original recipe called for 3 but I prefer to reduce the sugar in my baking.)
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (I left out the salt ’cause my butter was already salted.)

Preheat your oven to 350°F (175°C) Butter a loaf or bundt pan.
I decided to go with my bundt pan.

DSC_0001

Cream butter with sugar till fluffy.
This is the part where I praise owning a food processor with a whisk attachment.

DSC_0002

Add eggs one at a time. Then set aside.
(I forgot that I was supposed to take pictures until the last egg was mixed in.)

DSC_0003

Here comes the part where I completely forgot to take pictures.

Sift (or whisk together) flour, baking powder (and salt). Stir vanilla into the milk.
Alternate between the dry and milk when incorporating them into the butter, sugar and egg mixture. Don’t go crazy with the mixing. Just stir it enough so that the dry gets wet. Too much stirring can cause gluten to develop in the flour.

Leave this part out if you don’t want a marble cake:
Melt 1oz of chocolate. I didn’t measure, just broke off a chunk of chocolate and popped into the micro. Scooped out about 1/3 of the batter and mixed it up with the melted chocolate.

Alternate between the vanilla and chocolate batter when filling the pan. You can take a knife and “marble” the batters if you want. I didn’t bother.

Then I remember I was planning to do a tutorial but I couldn’t get a sharp picture of the cake baking in the oven.

DSC_0004

Bake in the oven for about 50 minutes. Test doneness by sticking it with a knife and if it comes out clean, then the cake is ready.

DSC_0005

Allow it to cool for at least 10 minutes before flipping it.

DSC_0006

There are “darker” blobs in the cake and that’s the chocolate-y parts. Could’ve been chocolate-ier in my opinion. But it was still fluffy and delicious. Have a cup of tay with the cake.

DSC_0007

2 Comments leave one →
  1. catseatsocks permalink
    Thursday. 09. 23. 2010. 9.14 pm

    Yum! You are such a domestic goddess 😉 Canadian Embassy Thanksgiving? That’s awesome! I had my picture taken in front of the embassy in Oslo 😉

  2. Friday. 09. 24. 2010. 6.17 pm

    Thanks!

    I’m actually kind of excited to go. I’ve been missing the motherland as of late.

Leave a Reply

