Skip to content

chicken! pot! pie!

Friday. 09. 17. 2010.

Fall appears to be the season for things like savory pies. I like to make chicken pot pie, shepherds’ pie, fish pie and shrimp & zucchini pie. I’m hoping to add to that list. Fall is fantastic for dessert pies as well. Last sunday I made a fantastic “topless” apple pie. I plan on going through quite a few recipes from Wanda’s Pie in the Sky cookbook.

Yesterday I made a chicken pot pie and got many requests for the recipe. I’m gonna use the term “recipe” fairly loosely.

I had a chicken that was supposed to be for a roast chicken dinner but we had so much roast pork, I didn’t get around to making it. Ended up just throwing into the oven and then into the fridge for the next day.

Ingredients for the filling includes:

  • carrots
  • leek
  • onion
  • brown mushrooms
  • chanterelle (Thanks Monica!)
  • zucchini (from our garden)

Cook the veggies till the carrots are soft but not mushy. Normally I’d also put in peas and corn but forgot to this time.

A couple of bay leaves and a handful of fresh thyme to season.

Made a béchamel sauce using chicken bouillon to season. Mix in the liquid from the veggies.

Shred and chop up the chicken. I didn’t use all the chicken ’cause I was gonna make a Korean spicy chicken soup but you’re welcomed to use all the chicken. Mix the chicken up with the veggies and béchamel sauce.

Allow the filling to cool while you make the pastry/defrost the puff pastry.

topless chicken pot pie

I normally use store bought puff pastry but decided to go with something from scratch.

I used Simply Recipe’s Perfect Pie Crust recipe. You’ll end up with leftover pastry but that also means no need to make pastry for the next pie. I just popped mine in the freezer. I’m thinking I’d like to make a shrimp and zucchini pie next.

Pop the top on and brush on an egg wash. Bake @ 225°C till golden brown. I think I varied between 200 and 250.

And behold! A chicken pot pie!
chicken pot pie

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Friday. 09. 17. 2010. 7.18 pm

    Looks very comforting and tasty. Autumn is well and truly here in UK. These are the sort of meals I’ll be cooking now too 🙂

  2. catseatsocks permalink
    Sunday. 09. 19. 2010. 2.04 am

    Yummy, and thanks! I could totally do this but with chowder, that would be cool.

  3. Sunday. 09. 19. 2010. 1.02 pm

    You could really do this with any sort of stew even. What do you think steak and mushroom pie is? ;D

Leave a Reply

