Skip to content

it’s strawberry season!

Monday. 07. 5. 2010.

If you’re not in a country that has strawberry season, I suggest you go to one that does have strawberry season. It is the only fruit season I actually look forward to and try to take full advantage of.

In Canada, I went strawberry picking with my brother, Denise, Noel and Tara. I called it the real migrant workers’ adventure. Even came up with the idea of having an amusement park called “The Real Migrant Workers’ Experience” where people pay $30 to pick fruits and produce for “fun” but they don’t get to keep the fruits and produce. They can buy them as “souvenirs” of their experience.

I forgot to bring a camera but Tara did so I’m just waiting for her to upload the photos on to the interweb.

Anyways. It’s kind of the height of strawberry season here in Sweden. Fredrik insists that Swedish berries are better. I still eat mine with sugar.

Along with strawberries, this is also the season for rhubarb.

I never had rhubarb in my life before last year and now I love the stuff. I’m hoping to grow rhubarb in my garden. I’ve got a couple strawberry plants. One of them even has a single strawberry.

The combination of strawberries and rhubarb is just fantastic.

With that in mind, I made a strawberry and rhubarb cobbler on Saturday that was just mind blowing. I used Simply Recipe’s recipe (http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/strawberry_rhubarb_cobbler/).

I didn’t actually measure out how much strawberries and rhubarb, didn’t use orange juice, and used flour instead of quick cooking tapioca. The result turned out just as good. Fredrik thought it was the best strawberry rhubarb thing I had ever made.

Here it is before going into the oven:
Before baking
I thought that the cobbler batter looked a bit like barf. It looked like someone had barfed on the strawberries and rhubarb. Mmm…

Things look much better after baking:
After baking
The centre was unfortunately a bit squishy despite it looking perfectly browned on the outside. I just chucked it.

Serve with vanilla ice cream and a cup of milky tea.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

