Skip to content

food from my childhood

Monday. 06. 14. 2010.

Yesterday my aunt told me about one of the chefs working for her. Apparently he was the head chef at the restaurant I remember vividly from Hong Kong where my parents used to go to for cold sliced pork leg. I distinctly remember the red bean pancakes that we would get afterwards, to the point that when I think about it, I can almost taste it.

Unfortunately this gem of a place has long closed and the building torn down. I would’ve loved to bring Fredrik to this place when we were in Hong Kong, as if we didn’t already get loads of great food.

Today I asked him about how to make this red bean pancake and ended up getting a demonstration. It tasted as delicious as I remember it. I also asked him for advice about scallion pancakes. Apparently the key to it is to use oil instead of flour to prevent the dough from sticking. I can’t wait till I’m back in my own kitchen to try this out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

