Skip to content

the Chinese

Monday. 02. 15. 2010.

In case you didn’t know, yesterday was the start of the year of the tiger on the Chinese lunar calendar. Not much happens in Sweden like it does in Canada but we also don’t have as many Chinese. Aside from calling the family + going out for dinner with some friends, I made nian gao this year. The sweet sticky Cantonese kind. I had no idea how easy it is to make. My grandmother has made it before but we usually buy them in Toronto. (My mom’s not really into cooking.)

I used the recipe posted on The Asian Grandmothers Cookbook. It didn’t look as brown as the kind we usually buy but as my mom reminded me, those usually have colouring in them. It was looking pretty white before I steamed it.

Making nian gao

After steaming it was this lovely light brown.

Making nian gao

It didn’t turn out very sweet. I usually use less sugar than instructed. But not all is lost. It’s still good and it’s the sticky gooey texture that I love the most.

Making nian gao

I called my grandmother and she instructed me on how to make the turnip cake. Perhaps I’ll make that next year. I need to locate myself some Chinese sausages first. Perhaps I’ll make some Chinese sausages. We’ll have to see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

