Skip to content

deep fried delicious

Monday. 02. 1. 2010.

Saturday night’s dinner was the ever delicious halibut and chips. Unfortunately halibut in Sweden is a costly 350+kr per kilo. Definitely not going to be something we have often but it’s definitely I’m going to do again. The last time I had a serving of halibut and chips was 2 years ago. I didn’t get around to having fish’n’chips in Canada last year.

pieces of halibut

I used Alton Brown’s instructions for fish’n’chips. (Recipe link) Instead of Guinness I used Murphy’s which worked just as well. As you can see in the picture, the batter is a bit brown but it still tasted great. It’s not as fantastic as the fish and chips at the shops but still better than the stuff available here in Scandinavia.

fish'n'chips + shrimps

This was my first time using a thermometer. Aside from looking pretty on the edge of my pot there wasn’t much it was doing. I deep fry from experience. I was the fry master back in Canada for the paint & fry.

deep frying rig

Now we’ve got a bit over 1 litre of frying oil (I used sunflower seed and canola oil). I’m hoping that we can put it to use before it goes bad. I’d also like to use it while we’re still living in this apartment because I don’t want to grease up my brand new pretty house. I’m thinking fried chicken will be the next thing to fry.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. catseatsocks permalink
    Tuesday. 02. 2. 2010. 12.44 am

    You can probably get a few more uses from the oil. Filter it into a jar and keep it in the fridge. I’ve done it.

Leave a Reply

