Skip to content

a sweet Canadian thing

Tuesday. 01. 12. 2010.

There are a few posts I was meaning to write over the holidays but never got around to it. So now I’m trying to get them written and up.

Sometime ago I made butter tarts. For those of you who do not know what a butter tart is, it’s like a pecan pie in tart form. It can also come with raisins in it instead of pecans but you all know how I feel about raisins.

I’ll also have you know that a butter tart is a very Canadian thing.

My recipe came from Joyofbaking.com. (http://joyofbaking.com/ButterTarts.html)

I didn’t have pecans but I did have walnuts. I just learned that it’s an even more of a Canadian thing to use walnuts instead of pecans.

The tart shells were the death of me. Since I haven’t mastered the pie pastry, it took me FOREVER to make the shells. I have since decided to make a butter PIE instead of tarts next time. But if I can find ready made tart shells, then I’ll return to making butter tarts.

I will say that I do NOT regret putting all that work in because it was heaven to bite into one of these babies.

butter tarts

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

