Skip to content

an open letter to physics

Wednesday. 12. 2. 2009.

Dear Physics,

How I love yet hate thee.

Don’t get me wrong, I will get through you. But I want you to know that it has been a while since I last had something make me react in such a way. I am fascinated by you but at the same time there are moments when I dread having to pick up that book and punch in those numbers in my calculator.

If only you were not a pre requisit for dental school. But then I would not have this love-hate relationship with you. Then where would my sanity be? There would be less moments of “Aha!” along with lesser moments of “What the hell did I do wrong?!”

I am not saying that you are all bad. In many ways, I enjoy your presence. It makes me feel good to be able to explain why certain things happen. For example, I can explain the old table cloth trick. I also now understand what 1 atmosphere means rather than just think of it as a diving term that only people with diving licenses understand.

I am not entirely sure if I will need you when I am a dentist but I just wanted to let you know that it’s not too often that something can have me going through such highs and such lows.

Love and always,

–Wendy

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

