Skip to content

Cafe Nervosa’s sour cream coffee cake

Monday. 11. 16. 2009.

Friday night I had a out-of-the-blue baking moment. I had some leftover sour cream which I had no idea what to do with ’cause I don’t eat the stuff. Friday was also when I got my Cafe Nervosa cookbook. Conveniently there was a sour cream coffee cake recipe. Despite having only 1 egg, I still ended up with a loaf size cake which I brought to my friend’s house on Saturday when I stopped by for coffee. It turned out pretty good except there wasn’t really much of a coffee taste. I think it can be much better with some tweaking.

silken sour cream coffee cake

I have no pecans but I did have walnuts. Worked just as good. The black specks are instant coffee crystals.
silken sour cream coffee cake

Here’s the original recipe taken from Cafe Nervosa: The Connoisseur’s Cookbook:

***I halved the recipe for my loaf size cake.***

  • ½ cup butter/margarine
  • ½ cup shortening
  • 1¼ cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 8 ounces sour cream
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ chopped pecans
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee granules
  • sifted icing sugar
  1. Beat butter and shortening till creamy. Add sugar and beat for 5-7 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, until well incorporated. Add sour cream and mix till blended.
  2. Add flour, baking powder, baking soda and vanilla. Stir well. Spoon half of batter into a greased and flour 8-inch tube pan. (I forgot to grease and flour my pan but the cake came out without loosing too much cake.)
  3. Combine chopped pecans (or in my case, walnuts) with 2 tablespoons sugar and coffee granules; sprinkle half over batter. Pour in remaining batter and sprinkle remaining pecan sugar on top.
  4. Bake at 350°F (180°C) for 55 minutes (I baked mine for 30 minutes). Let cake cool in pan on a wire rack for 10-15 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool completely on wire rack. Dust with icing sugar.

All wrapped up and ready for the road.
packed + ready to go

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

