Skip to content

my bolognese

Tuesday. 10. 6. 2009.

I made a big batch of bolognese today. Decided that I’d make it into a tutorial of sorts. Hope you like…

Let’s start with ingredients…
Base ingredients: mince beef, onion, carrots, zucchini, garlic, crushed tomatoes

Mince, carrots, zucchini, onion + crushed tomatoes

I don’t use any measurements… I just use what I have. There are some extra ingredients in THIS particular bolognese because I had it kicking around in the freezer. Don’t worry about not having salsa and soy protein mince in your bolognese.

Grate the carrots and zucchini. Dice the onion. Mince the garlic.

Grated zucchini + carrots

Season your beef with some soy sauce, sugar and a splash of cooking sherry. I used leftover white wine.

Mince beef

Heat up some oil.

Heat oil

Sauté your onion and garlic first. Trust me… the bolognese will be tastier if you start by sautéing your onion and garlic first.

Add onions + garlic

Add your mince. Make sure to stir it around so that it doesn’t cook into a giant clump of meat.

Add mince beef

I usually add some seasoning when I’m cooking the meat. I use oregano. (I’m really not good with using spices.)

Add your grated carrots and zucchini.

Add grated zucchini + carrots

Cook until the carrots and zucchini have softened. Add your crushed tomatoes. I use the kind that comes in a carton. Fresh tomatoes are a bit pricey here in Sweden. Canned tomatoes work just as well.

Add crushed tomatoes

The bolognese will be a bit watery at first. Cook the sauce without a lid until most of the moisture has been reduced.

Cook to reduce moisture

Serve with some sort of pasta. I chose spaghetti but after eating it, I decided that it would’ve been better with a penne or fusilli.

Serve with spaghetti

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

