Skip to content

more of a dreamer

Thursday. 08. 13. 2009.

Ever since I read Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, I’ve been more interested in this idea of being self sufficient. It’s a bit of a hard thing to do living in a flat but I can dream.

My mom always grew tomatoes, cucumbers, beans and squash in our backyard.

Dreaming of my own small vegetable garden and a small brood of hens is not that unrealistic. It will be a lot of work. But considering the kind of chemicals they spray on the fruits and veggies, not to mention prices and places they’re shipping my vegetables from, I think it would be worth it. Fredrik says that it sounds like a great idea.

I got myself a copy of The NEW Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency that will hopefully be able to guide me towards my dreams of being more self sufficient.

The NEW Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency

A vine ripen tomato is WAY more tasty than any tomato that has to make a truck journey from the vine to my kitchen.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

