Skip to content

boiled meat

Saturday. 03. 21. 2009.

If you’re ever in Sweden or Denmark… I think Norway too, you will come across the boiled hot dog.

That’s right. It’s boiled. They like it that way. They boil it with a couple bay leaves and peppercorns. It’s boiled and it’s soggy and it’s sad.

At my work, people often ask me how they should prepare the sausages.

Surprisingly, a lot of people don’t really know how to deal with raw sausages. Probably has to do with the aisles and aisles of processed sausages. I’m talking about North Americans by the way.

So people ask how they should cook their sausages. Every so often I would hear, “Do I boil them?”

Who thinks of BOILING first when they think of sausages?

I know that there are North Americans who boil their sausages but those are few.

I’ve even had conversations with Swedes who have had the barbequed hot dog/sausage and they’ve argued that their hot dogs are still better.

I just don’t understand. What is this need to holding on to boiled hot dogs??

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

