Skip to content

chocolate chip and almond cookies

Saturday. 12. 13. 2008.

I remember reading somewhere that the recipes from Martha Stewart often did not work out so well. They’ve turned out well for most of the time for me. This time worked out but not as well as they projected.

This recipe comes from Body + Soul. It’s supposed to be a chocolate chunk cookie with almonds. I made some substitutions because I don’t have things like oat flour, whole-wheat flour and brown-rice syrup. I found the substitution online.

Here’s what I did:

2 ½ cups of all purpose flour
½ teaspoon salt
½ cup canola oil
6 tablespoons maple syrup
¼ cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 tablespoon water
1½ teaspoons vanilla extract
7 oz chocolate chips
1 cup chopped almonds

  1. Whisk dry ingredients together.
  2. Whisk wet ingredients together.
  3. Stir in dry ingredients; fold in chocolate and nuts.
  4. Cover and chill in refridgerator for at least 1 hour.
  5. Preheat oven to 375°F (190°C). Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Scoop dough onto backing sheets evenly spaced. Bake till light golden brown. (I got a bit distracted by Stephen Colbert so they came out a bit more brown.)
  6. Cool cookies and consume!

The dough was drier than than than the usual cookie dough I’m used to. The cookie didn’t spread like a dough made with butter. It did turn out good but for next time I’ll use a recipe that uses butter. I understand that people want to be healthy and all but when you want to be healthy maybe baking almost 3 dozen cookies is not something you should do.

I’ve included a picture of the picture in the magazine. As you can see, mine look NOTHING like theirs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

