Skip to content

one less thing to do

Tuesday. 12. 9. 2008.

I just finished writing my essay for Swedish literature. I have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I miss the days of writing essays and reading. Sure it can be a pain in the ass at times and not very much fun. In fact one thing I hated the most about English in high school was the fact that they would take a good piece of literature and analyse it to death. But then there are some really interesting pieces that warrant some thought. Like the piece I was working on, August Strindberg’s Ett dockhem.

That class also gave me some interesting insight on some of the other students and what they learned in their country. I had to ask Noel this morning if he wrote any essays in high school or if ISUs were just something I did in my school. Luckily his answer was yes. Let’s just leave it at, what the hell are some of these people learning in school.

Speaking of school, I’m supposed to help my brother with his grammar. Apparently, it’s pretty atrocious. Not saying that I’m awesome at grammar but at least I know that “want’s”is wrong in so many ways. In discussion with my mom about how the schools no longer teach grammar and how I never learned grammar in school, she told me that apparently government imposed a new standard in the education system saying that teachers were giving students too much homework. What? What? What?

Schools are already not teaching students the basics and spoon feeding them everything. Now apparently children have too much homework? Maybe I was a special kid because I hardly had homework, I just finished my work at school. But come on. You’re supposed to pack their soft, pliable brains with knowledge now before it hardens and can’t accept much more info.

I’ve order a set of grammar workbooks for my brother and hopefully that will help. I’ve also ordered some books for him to read. My grade 7 teacher once told me that the only way I’ll learn to be a better writer is to read. I try my best to read as often as possible. Sometimes I feel a bit shameful in my choice in books. But I’ve choosen The Thief of Always (Clive Barker), Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card), Something Wicked This Way Comes (Ray Bradbury) and The Tales of Beedle the Bard (J.K. Rowling). I’ve never read any of Rowling’s books but my brother has read the Harry Potter series. But I’m hoping that the selection of books will spark an interest in him to read more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

