Skip to content

animal, vegetable, miracle

Wednesday. 09. 10. 2008.

I’ve been reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and the farther into the book, the more I’m interested in the idea of being self sustainable.

When Karamjit was here, we talked about the idea of volunteering on an organic farm. I actually think it would be really interesting. It’s hard work to work on a farm but I think it’ll be quite rewarding. If you think about it, it’s pretty silly that people “get away” by going to work at a farm.

Anyways.

Apparently there’s a World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms. I could look into working on a farm in Sweden or one in Canada. If I do it in Canada, I could do with Karamjit but that would also mean cutting into my visit and I’m not completely sure how my parents would feel about that.

I highly recommend reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. I think it’s important for people to know and understand where their food comes from and how it’s grown.

The only downside of working on a farm will be the bugs. I really don’t have the stomach for things like grabbing a caterpillar off a plant with my bare hands. In fact, I hate squirmy things like caterpillars.  😛
But I’m sure with experience, comes not making a big deal about it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

