Skip to content

a moment to write a post

Friday. 08. 1. 2008.

I find that writing a blog post is not as simple as some may think. Sometimes I’m way too scatterbrain to put down what I want to put down. I’ve just been too tired and since I’ve been sitting on my bed to use my laptop, I’ve been curled up like a shrimp. I’ve finally decided to take over my brother’s desk and sit in a proper chair. I’m kind of confined to the room I’m staying in (well… my bedroom) because we don’t have a wireless router and our internet is a bit strange so right now I’m using someone else’s wifi that’s coming through our walls.

Anyways.

So I show up at my parents’ place last week. My aunt’s 3 younger kids and my grandparents were here, that made 9 people in the house. It was a bit crazy not to mention the fact that we were trying to get together the trip to New York. On top of it all, I misplaced some very, VERY important documents.

The train to New York should’ve taken 12 hours. First there was the bridge that was struck by lightening then there was the deer that got hit and the carcass got all jammed in the breaks. We didn’t arrive until 4am. In total the journey took 20 hours. Not only was it unbearably long but I had with me 4 kids who became very hungry while we waited for a new engine to save us.

New York was not bad. It was really hot and humid though. My aunt thought I was a bit of a weirdo for suggesting walking and subway-ing when we first got there but soon she realized that it was way better and easier to walk and take the subway than taking a cab. We stayed at the Four Seasons in midtown. Pretty nice place, really ritzy neighbourhood but I didn’t like it too much. The people there were just… gave me the willies.

We managed to make it to 1 museum. It took over an hour to get all 8 of us out the door. Then there was trying to find a place to eat. My aunt’s family also slept in pretty late so by the time we got all that done, it was 3 o’clock and the museums closed around 5. There were some benefits to missing the museums because we ended up doing things like walking in Central Park and going to see the New York Waterfalls. We did manage to go to the American Museum of Natural History on the last day because I instructed them to get up at 8:30 instead of the usual 11:30.

I came back on the Greyhound with my brother. We got to take the earlier bus and that went on pretty smoothly. It’s just tiring because it’s hard as hell to sleep on a bus.

So that’s what’s been happening in my first week of being here. Thank god the house is less 3 kids. I was not ready for all the people when I showed up. It’s really different going from 2 people and a cat to a house full of people and no time to even think.

I better go to bed now. I have to get up tomorrow to tend to these misplaced documents. What a damn pain in the ass.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

