Skip to content

my first pie

Wednesday. 05. 14. 2008.

shrimp & zucchini pie

Last Friday when Fredrik came home from the studio, I baked my first pie.  🙂

It was a shrimp and zucchini pie. I got the recipe from a pie book I borrowed from the library. The recipe is in Swedish but I managed pretty well. There was only the bit about adding flour to the zucchini and then the warm milk that I kind of messed up a little but in the end the pie turned out just fine.

Here is the recipe in English for those who want to give it a try.

Pie Dough (yields 200g of dough; fits 23cm pie form)

  • 200g flour
  • pinch of salt
  • 100g fat (lard, margarin, butter, shortening, your choice)
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2-3 tablespoons ice cold water
  1. Sift flour and salt into a bowl. Cut the fat into small pieces and set aside.
  2. Work the pieces of fat into the flour with your fingertips until the dough feels grainy.
  3. Work egg yolk into dough. Add just enough water to bind the dough.
  4. Wrap in plastic and let it sit in the fridge for approximately 30 minutes before rolling out into the pie form.

The pie dough can be easily reduced to any amount needed. It’s just 2 parts flour to 1 part fat.

Filling

  • 175g pie dough
  • 40g butter
  • 1 zucchini cut into strips
  • 25g flour
  • 3dl warm milk
  • 175g shelled cooked shrimps
  • 2 eggs
  • 75g shredded cheddar
  • salt and pepper
  1. Preheat oven at 200°C.
  2. Roll out dough and fit into 24cm pie form. Put it back into the fridge for 15 minutes then pre-bake for 15 minutes. Remember to weigh down the bottom of the pie shell.
  3. Melt butter in a pan and cook zucchini strips until softened, approx 5 minutes. Add flour and let the flour cook for a few minutes. Add warm milk and let it cook till it thickens into a sauce.
  4. Let sauce cool while you prepare the shrimps. Mix the eggs with the shrimps and 1/3 of the shredded cheese. Season with salt and pepper. Mix with the cooled zucchini and sauce and pour into baked pie shell. Cover with remainder of the cheese
  5. Bake the pie for 25 minutes at 190°C, till the top is golden brown. Serve warm.

I found out in the process of making the pie that my pie form is 28cm in diameter. There was a little part on the edge of the pie that the dough didn’t cover but it still worked out fine. We have a non stick pie form so I reduced the last baking time by a bit. In the last few minutes, I moved the pie up to the top rack and turned on the broil function to brown the surface.

I’m pretty proud of my first pie. I think this is the beginning of a new adventure. I promised Fredrik a blueberry pie. I’d like to give apple pie a try and we’ll definitely make taco pie. I used to think that pie dough was scary but it’s not. It’s actually quite easy. I’d like to get one of those dough blenders for future pies. For this pie, I used the potato masher.

We’re supposed to get a new stove tomorrow. Woo!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

