Skip to content

wasting time

Thursday. 04. 17. 2008.

Yesterday we watched some Swedish “films” in class and it was just a big waste of time. My teacher showed us these children films and everyone was bored out of their minds.

First we watched this animated film about an eagle that was afraid of heights and how he eventually learned to fly. My teacher claimed that the animation was very beautiful but it wasn’t.

Then we watched Pippi Långstrump (Longstocking). Now I know that this is a Swedish classic but it really does nothing for me. So it’s a story about some kid that can do whatever she wants. It’s just not my thing. Even when I was a kid, it never appealed to me. Some girl in my grade 8 class was reading it and I thought she was reading some elementary school book. She was a bit of an idiot then; I found out last year that she’s still a bit of an idiot. That’s a story for another time.

Then there was this REALLY long Pettson och Findus film. I like the art in the books and at first I was like, “Awww! There’s a cat with little green pants!” But soon it got boring.

They might’ve appealed to children but we all just found it boring. It would’ve been much better to show us an adult film.

I did get to meet some people that’s in the 2nd part of the program I’m doing. They say that it really doesn’t get any better. So far everyone I’ve talked to all agree the program is really not what we all thought it would be.

For starters, there’s very little class time. We’ve had 2 classes per week and each class lasts about 2.5 hours. I understand that we’re in a post secondary level now and most of the work is done at home but don’t you think that if we’re gonna learn a language that a bit more class time would be better? Not only do we have very little class time, we spend the majority of class taking up homework.

Then there’s the disorganization of the teachers.

We had 3 teachers to start but then 1 of them went to work at the Swedish Language Institute. They don’t seem to communicate with each other. There was one time when 1 teacher told us to hand something in to another teacher who looked at us with total shock when we did what the other teacher told us to do. The worse thing was that 2 of the 3 teachers are married. But now we’re down to 2 and we haven’t seen 1 of them in almost a month.

The other thing that really boggles my mind is that we get these projects we’re supposed to do like the presentation and the write up but there’s no information provided. In any post secondary, never mind post secondary, even in high school, when we got a project of any sort, we get an outline of what is expected of us, how it will be marked and whatever else we need to know. If we hadn’t asked our teacher about the write up, they would’ve forgotten to tell us what we were supposed to read and what we’re supposed to do. We still don’t really know how we’re supposed to be writing this write up.

I just really hope that by the end of the 3 part of this program I will actually be able to go to university because I don’t want to spend any more time than what I will and have spent. It will be a serious pain in the ass to know that it’s 3 semesters down the drain because the teachers are useless.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

