Skip to content

worries and disappointments

Wednesday. 04. 9. 2008.

I called my mom last night and she asked me how my Swedish was coming along.

That’s one question I hear a lot from people who know I’m trying to learn Swedish.

To be honest, I’m not sure if I am getting better at Swedish or not. There are many moments when I feel like I will never learn the language no matter how hard I work. Fredrik reassures me that I’m progressing quite a bit but then again I doubt he would me that I suck and that I’m a big idiot.

I really don’t know what I will do if I don’t learn this language. I cannot imagine living here without being fluent in the language. I don’t want to be one those people who has lived here for 10+ years but know next to nothing in the language. Maybe it’s this fear of failure that makes me feel bad about my progress.

It really doesn’t help that the program that I had such high expectations for is turning into quite a disappointment. Class is slow and really disorganized. Not to mention the fact that it could really use more class time. I’m looking into taking a summer intensive course at Folkuniversitet. Hopefully there will be enough people interested so that there will be a class. I know that if I slack off during the summer months, I will definitely forget much of what I’ve learned.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Wednesday. 04. 9. 2008. 6.58 pm

    Oh, lovey!

    It sounds like you’re doing great! At least your doing something…..

    I’ve been here 9 months and only managed 6 weeks at SFI before getting so frustrated and taking a “break”. We agreed to hire a tutor who also knows English to help me get through the hard stuff later this fall (after all the hustle from the wedding settles down)….

    I too don’t want to be one of those folks who never learns the local language – everything would be so much easier and I would feel much more ingrained in the society here if I knew Swedish fluently.

    All in good time I guess. Keep your head up!

    XO DIsh

Leave a Reply

