Skip to content

my first roast chicken

Thursday. 04. 3. 2008.

Last night I made my first whole roast chicken. I was rather proud of myself and the results. First I stuffed the chicken with a mixture of onion, rosemary, salt and pepper. Then I rubbed the outside of the chicken with a mixture of olive oil, rosemary, herb salt and pepper. There were some leftover onion from the stuffing so I used it to pad the chicken in the pan.

I first baked it on its breast at 200°C for 20 minutes then I lowered the heat to 150°C and baked it for about 1 hour and 15 minutes. Then I flipped the chicken back on it’s back to brown the breast at 250°C. We have a meat thermometer but there was no indication of chicken on it so we went with 80°C internal temp in the thickest part of the breast. Our chicken weighed about 1.2 kg.

About 1 hour into the roasting of the chicken, I put in some wedges of carrots and then in the last 15 minutes or so I put in some wedges of zucchini.

Fredrik made an awesome garlic-y potato salad with leek and chopped olives.

I think I will definitely roast another chicken.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. coyotechile permalink
    Friday. 04. 4. 2008. 12.24 am

    Jeez, that sounds good. I like to peel a bunch of garlic cloves and insert them under the skin before I roast the chicken. Like 20 cloves–I think the recipe is called “Garlic, chicken garlic” Frugal Gourmet from a long time ago. You’d think it is too much garlic, but that raw flavor just gets mushy and happy after an hour in the oven–squish it on some crusty sourdough, but make sure you brush your teeth before bed–. I’m getting hungry-

  2. souvenir kattunge permalink*
    Friday. 04. 4. 2008. 10.59 pm

    coyotechile,

    Thanks for the suggestion. You can NEVER have too much garlic. Love the garlic. I will give it a try the next time I make roast chicken.

Leave a Reply

