Skip to content

curry turnovers

Sunday. 03. 2. 2008.
I initially wanted to take a stab at making Jamaican patties. But since we have no mince meat and there hasn’t been any sales for it, I decided to use chicken instead. Last night I made curry chicken with peas, carrots and onions for dinner.

I used the leftover curry as filling for the turnovers. Instead of making my own dough, I bought frozen puff pastry (it’s called smördeg here in Sweden). It’s not very expensive and it’s super easy to use. I thawed the dough according to the instructions on the package. It actually took less time to thaw the dough.

The chicken in the curry was a bit too big so I had to cut the pieces down. I also made some simple stir fried napa cabbage last night, the leftovers were added into the curry, so there would be more veggie content.

I used a bit of water to seal the edges of the dough. It would’ve been much easier to use minced meat instead of pieces of chicken because then the filling wouldn’t have been as chunky. But it worked out. I crimped the edges with a fork to make a better seal.

I baked them according to the instructions on the box. (220°C for about 15-20 minutes) Although I think they needed less time than suggested because of their size and because the filling is already cooked.
I think I’ll make the turnovers bigger next time. 1 roll yielded 9 turnovers. Bigger turnovers = more filling.

I’ve never worked with puff pastry before so when I saw how much they puffed up, I was really happy that I went with the puff pastry. A couple of them leaked but the overall result was fantastic. Fredrik thought they were great too. I always have my doubts when I try out a recipe I’ve never done before. I didn’t think they would turn out as well as they did.

I would like to make some sweet turnovers at some point in time. Maybe with apple or berry filling.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

