Skip to content

now we must wait

Tuesday. 12. 25. 2007.

Over the last few days, I’ve been kind of obsessing with the idea of making bento boxes. So I’ve been scouring eBay for cute bento boxes. Well luckily for me, cute bento boxes are quite abundant. Not only are there cute bento boxes, there are tools to make the food in the bento boxes super cute.

After much browsing and comparing, I have bought myself 4 bento boxes. 2 are sets that include an assortment of goodies. I’ve also got a set of rice molds, a set of egg molds (further explaination to follow), a set of divider boxes for inside the bento box, and sauce containers. I cannot wait till they arrive.

I’m especially looking forward to the Totoro bento box. Doesn’t it look great?!
Totoro bento box

I even have a Hello Kitty bento box set coming.Hello Kitty bento set

I suppose I could’ve got myself a set of sandwich cutters but I don’t think I would use those very often. I’m actually not a big fan of sandwiches. I also don’t think my bento lunches will be super elaborate like some that I’ve seen online. I don’t have the patience to make it. The cute box and cute shaped rice or egg will be enough for me.

After looking at how much I’ve spent and how many things I’ve bought, I think I’ve got enough stuff. Even Fredrik laughed when I told him how many boxes I have bought. On the plus side, I don’t have to worry about not having a clean bento box for the next day if I get lazy and don’t wash the one I used.

For those of you who have never heard about egg molds. The Japanese have come up with the idea of molding your hard boiled egg into assorted cute shapes. Here’s a tutorial from Cooking Cute: http://www.cookingcute.com/using_egg_molds.htm
My set of egg molds will include a bunny head, a fish, a star, a heart, a car and a bear.

Noel’s parents used to own a Japanese restaurant. Before I left for Sweden, they gave me a jar of teriyaki sauce that they made. It was really good. I will try to make my own. I think my strategy for packing a lunch will be to cook extra for dinner in the night before and bring the leftovers. Since I will probably have to leave rather early for school, I will most likely not be able to pack a lunch in the morning. I am NOT a morning person.

Guess I will have to knit some more hats and sew some more charms for Etsy. I’ve spent quite a bit of what I’ve earned.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

